Catherine Metayer

Catherine Metayer is a physician trained in France who worked in departments of pediatrics and oncology where she developed an interest in cancer research. She received her PhD in Epidemiology at Tulane University, New Orleans, LA, and focused her post-doctoral work on occupational exposures related to hematopoietic cancers in adults. She was a Visiting Scientist at the Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics at the National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, expanding her research on secondary cancers following treatment for a primary cancer, and environmental risk factors of lung cancer in China. She is currently an Adjunct Professor at UC Berkeley, School of Public Health, working on environmental and genetic factors of childhood leukemia in California and within the Childhood Leukemia International Consortium (CLIC).

Pagan Morris

Pagan Morris is the project manager for the California Childhood Leukemia Study at UC Berkeley, School of Public Health. She received her MPH from San Jose State University. She is a certified health education specialist and has experience working on a variety of cancer epidemiology studies in California.

Dr. Patricia A. Buffler

Dr. Patricia A. Buffler (1938-2013) held the position of Professor of Epidemiology in the School of Public Health at the University of California at Berkeley and as Adjunct Professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of California at San Francisco School of Medicine.  Her distinguished tenure at Berkeley included serving as Dean from 1991-1998 and being named as the Kenneth and Marjorie Kaiser Endowed Chair in Cancer Epidemiology in 2004. She served as President of the Society for Epidemiologic Research, the International Society of Environmental Epidemiology and the American College of Epidemiology, and was elected to the American Epidemiologic Society in 1983.  Dr. Buffler was President-Elect of the International Epidemiological Association (IEA) and would have assumed the office of President in 2014 at the Triennial meeting of the IEA Association in Anchorage, Alaska.  She previously served as Councilor for the IEA North American region (2005-2008) and IEA Treasurer (2008-2011).